chrispy thoughts

-the world as I see it

What’s in a name

My name is Chrysl and yes, it has absolutely no vowels in it. Don’t you dare put in any, because it makes me see red. I don’t have any nicknames that I’d rather be called by and I love how my name sounds, except when it is mispronounced, which happens quite often. You see it is really easy to pronounce – just say it the way you would say the word ‘crystal’ but without the ’t’ in it.

Being the youngest in my family, I am fondly called ‘baby’ by everyone at home. It suits me just fine, although it makes me forget my actual age from time to time. All was well, until the day I came across one of our relatives whom everybody called ‘baby aunty’. “I would’ve been mortified had you christened me baby” I remarked to mama. She laughed and said that ‘baby’ was not my aunt’s real name; it was just a nick that had stuck on. “In fact,” my mum added “I can’t seem to recall her actual name.” Plagued by the paranoia of growing up into a ‘baby aunty’, I announced that I would be called ‘baby’ no more.

Then there was this time in high school, my Principal used to call me Cryzzil. Is it just me or do you also think that this makes me seem like a grizzly bear?

In my second year of undergraduation, one of the Professors could never get herself to pronounce my entire name. I could sense the dread in her voice when my roll number approached and could see the relief that washed over her face (even if it lasted for a fleeting moment) after she had said ‘Krisssshhhh’. She would then hastily look up at me, her facial expression reading ‘ I tried my best.’ My innumerable attempts to get her to say ‘Chrysl’ were futile and I had to come to terms with the fact that it was an impossible feat to make her pronounce it right.

Those of you who know me well will be aware of how the words ‘ yuck, disgusting, shady’ etc.  are used extensively in my vocabulary.  So, some of my friends came up with this fictitious reality show called CKS, modelled along the lines of Rakhi ka Swayamwar (one of the most crappy and sleazy shows in the history of Indian television). Much to my chagrin, I was the character around whom the show revolved and the rest of the cast included those whom I would otherwise describe with the choicest of adjectives. To add insult to injury, I was nicknamed ‘superstar’.

How can she slap? The transition from superstar to slapstar – A group of us MC members were sitting in CCD in the IITM campus. For some reason everyone thought that the jokes that night would be even more funny if they were cracked at Pingu’s or my expense. Bratty baby B was one among the perpetrators or rather, one of the sidekicks (he also doubles as Pingu’s stress buster and unauthorized conscience).  The jokes had to end and I had to do something to stop them. Pingu and Prasoo egged me on to slap B and I readily took up the challenge. In an effort to angle my hand according to the shape of his cheek, I inadvertently increased the momentum, and what was supposed to be a light tap ended up being a tight slap! I became slapstar, a nickname I am not proud of, although I must admit that it serves as this weapon I can wield to keep pesky creatures at bay.

In my Master’s course, I had classmates of different nationalities. It was decided that each of us would have alternate names according to the country of our origin- I was christened ‘kamasutra queen’. “Noooooooo” I shrieked, while my Portuguese friend, who had come up with it, could not see why the name didn’t appeal to me. He looked at me quizzically and then said that he would’ve considered it an honour, had he been named so. ‘Well, since you like the nick so much, you can keep it” I replied. (Had the name popped up on fb, people back home would wonder what I had been up to in Europe). Thankfully, it was forgotten.

I landed the nickname ‘Chrispy’ when Nikola called me ‘Chryssie’ but I heard it as ‘Chrispy’. I made a fuss about how I didn’t like it. For some reason, all my classmates loved the name and from then on I was ‘Chrispy’. Why I would name my blog after it, you may ask. Well, the name is catchy and it was the first thing that popped in my head when I created my blog. Not wanting to rack my brains for another one, I decided to go with it 🙂

My friends also call me Chrys, Chrissie, Chrysla or Kissla, my preference being in the order in which I have mentioned them. The problem is the good ones rarely stick and the not-so-good ones never go away!

5 comments on “What’s in a name

  1. ranjanimv
    September 5, 2012

    Chrysaaaaaal 😀 here you go!! 🙂 LOved it

  2. C.
    September 6, 2012

    Thank u bum.

  3. Mr. B
    September 6, 2012

    Revenge is a dish best served cold. I will avenge that slap. When it’s cold.

  4. ruminationsofanidlemind
    September 12, 2012

    I’ll never stop calling you Chrissie 🙂

  5. Nalla P
    September 23, 2012

    Hehe!! I am so glad it was a tight slap as against a light tap! 😛

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2012 by in Humour, Personal and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 117 other followers

Dig through

Blog Stats

  • 23,239 views

What I write about

