chrispy thoughts

-the world as I see it

Colour our world

Colours – who does’t love them? The more, the merrier;  although if you’re male, consider yourself less blessed in this regard as you don’t get to appreciate half as many colours as we women do 😛

If you look at it, nature knows no monochrome- there’s always different colours, myriad hues and a gazillion shades and they look just right altogether – never gaudy. Gaudi’s thoughts exactly – I guess it’s just me who’s thrilled at how I could get gaudy and Gaudi to plop themselves adjacent to each other. But mind you, Gaudi’s work was never gaudy.

When someone says the word ‘colours’ , what are the first three words that pop up in your head?

Well, let me go first.

Rainbow
You wake up in the morning and you’re greeted with an overcast sky. The sun isn’t playing its usual peek-a-boo and is comfortably tucked away behind ominious grey clouds that are threatening to rain down on you and wash away any plans you had made for the day. We need a happy ending, something to lighten our moods and cheer up our dampened spirits. “Look, there’s a rainbow”  – it’s almost like this magnet drawing people to it – shutterbugs eager to get a good picture, dreamers out to get their pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and some folks like me, who just want to look at it and soak in the colours.

Fall
My favourite season. Most people would rather associate summer with colours – nature is in full bloom, there are pretty flowers everywhere, people are dressed in vibrant attire and you just want to stay outside, until the Sun, who takes his job really seriously at times, is overdoing it and you feel like he’s sapping the life out of you. Hence my choice – fall. Incredible shades of yellow, orange, red, gold, brown and the occasional green – you just can’t get enough of it. The pessimist might say that the trees are shedding their leaves and this is just the start of  them getting ugly and bare, stripped off their ornamentation. But don’t you just love it when the occasional zephyr comes along and sends all the leaves into a little jig of their own. I can hear the pessimist now saying – “and what are you going to do about your ruined hair-do?”  My answer to that – “that’s why you shouldn’t waste too much time on your hair; there are more important things in life you know.” Don’t mistake me to be a person who walks around with messy hair (that may be true sometimes, only SOME times), but it’s always clean. Time to cut the crap and head to my third answer.

Holi 
A lot of you may not be acquainted with the term, so here’s what Holi is – it’s the most colourful festival on the Earth. It is the day when the whole of India is bathed in colours,  people are out in the street, on the beach, flinging coloured powder on each other, and unsuspecting passers-by and then of course, let the Madeira flow, and you’ve got a whole bunch of party animals grooving to different genres of Indian music. I guess it’s one of those experiences you must try having at some point in your life. Just a heads up, the bigger the fuss you kick up about not getting colour on yourself, the bigger the target you become.

All this while, I have been going on about the good connotations of colours, but I can’t ignore the negative aspects of the word too. We differentiate based on colour. We favour some and frown upon the rest; some people even want to do away with the rest. I am talking about how we discriminate among people based on colour (to add to the already long list of reasons like race, creed, religion, caste, gender, nationality, social status etc.). Till date, some people believe that the worst thing that can happen to you is not being born white. I disagree. I belong to what people call ‘the brown-skinned folks.’  Then there are the yellow-skinned and the black-skinned. Forget the global picture, a colour-based differentiation occurs locally too. There are more than a dozen brands of ‘fairness and skin whitening creams’  in India and the mindless advertisements that they come up with on television basically promote the idea – “if you’re fair, u succeed; if not, here’s the solution”, while in some parts of the world you have fair-skinned people who would do anything to get a tan!

We just don’t appreciate what we’ve got, do we?

I would like to think that all of us humans are like chocolate – we come in different flavours – dark, white, brown, cream and those in between. Who does not like chocolate? (I know some of you can prove me wrong, but don’t say it out aloud and drill a hole in my ideological bubble).  Of course you have your preferences among the types of chocolate and you like to stick to your comfort zone, but at the same time, you don’t despise the rest of the flavours either. That being said, I can proudly tell you that I have friends of different colours, ( no, I did not go on a ‘friends of different colours’ hunt) and I can tell you for a fact that being a certain colour doesn’t make you different from the person sitting next to you.
I am going to go with the clichéd “beauty is but skin deep” here.

Then comes the infamous pink- blue tussle: pink for girls and blue for boys. Who ever came up with that? It’s not that I am one of those pink-haters. I used to be, when I was in high school – I associated pink with “silly girl, gay guy”. Then I grew up (and now the up’s slowly getting replaced with old *sniff*). What’s wrong if you are a guy/girl who likes the to wear pink –  do what you want to do, wear what you want to wear – whether it’s hot pink/ radioactive green/ neon red/ mustard yellow or even a mix of all of them.

I would like to end with the line – “just like all other things in life, nothing is black or white, it’s just a billion shades of grey.”

7 comments on “Colour our world

  1. livinginfairyland
    October 30, 2012

    I love colour..I sit in front of my wardrobe some days thinking, what sort of a day is it, green? yellow? I like your idea that everybody should be able to wear pink!

  2. ruminationsofanidlemind
    October 31, 2012

    Chrissie!

    What an awesome post 🙂
    I got super excited reading it. I had random colorful bubbles popping up in front of me, and no, that was not the effect of certain ‘ahem’ spices. But I would like to say, hippies do appreciate colors more than other people. 😛

    And that’s a super picture by the way!

    • C.
      October 31, 2012

      Thank you 🙂 🙂

  3. Sharmishtha
    November 1, 2012

    holi really is synonymous with colours 🙂
    love to enjoy this festival from safe distance, i.e., watching others.

    • C.
      November 1, 2012

      To tell you frankly, I have never played holi either. But I plan to do so atleast once, for the experience 😀

  4. Cheryl Anne
    November 20, 2012

    i love the second line 😉

    • C.
      November 20, 2012

      Dhanyavadagalu

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2012 by in My opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 117 other followers

Dig through

Blog Stats

  • 23,239 views

What I write about

