chrispy thoughts

-the world as I see it

Know your architectural styles -Romanesque

“XYZ Church was built in the Romanesque style, but has Gothic and Baroque elements as well” – you are very likely to come across a sentence on the lines of this either in your guide book or from your tour guide in a European country.  For those of you who just know these terms on a first-name basis, this is when you switch off and remind yourself that you ought to do some reading up on the characteristics of the different architectural styles and learn how to distinguish them from each other. But when you actually get down to doing it, you are overwhelmed by the volumes of information available and you make a mental note to come back to the subject sometime in the near future and then before you know it, you’re on your next trip, standing in front of another historic church, with people around you seeming to know exactly in which style the structure has been built.

To save you the ordeal of having to go back to those pages that you had bookmarked or earmarked, I have decided to do a series of posts describing the basics of each of the four architectural styles – the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque, in chronological order.

In this post, I will introduce to you the Romanesque style of architecture, which is the oldest of the four styles.

Romanesque

The typical Romanesque church

The typical Romanesque church

These are just the basic details of Romanesque churches and I hope that you have gotten a better picture of what they should look like. Speaking of pictures, I have compiled a few of them containing Romanesque churches into the image below.

Examples of Romanesque churches

Examples of Romanesque churches

6 comments on “Know your architectural styles -Romanesque

  1. Jacques
    September 7, 2014

    Wow.. Great!! I got stumped while reading travel guides as you so aptly illustrated and am so glad I found your post!! Short and precise now I do know more about the Romanesque style. So looking forward to your post on Gothic and Baroque style.. I’m so much better prepared for my year end trip now 😊

    • C.
      September 8, 2014

      I am glad to have been of help 🙂

  2. Pingback: Know your architectural styles- Gothic | chrispy thoughts

  3. kirstyevidence
    July 5, 2015

    I have also been looking for an ‘idiot’s guide’ to architectural styles to help me out while I am traveling around Europe – and this is exactly what I needed. Many thanks for taking the time to write these posts.

    • C.
      July 13, 2015

      That’s great! Thanks to you I finally got around to writing my final post in the architectural styles series. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Know your architectural styles- Baroque | chrispy thoughts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2014 by in Architecture, Travel and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 117 other followers

Dig through

Blog Stats

  • 23,239 views

What I write about

